How To Watch the ‘Underworld’ Movies In Order (By Release Date Or Chronologically)

The Underworld series is the only franchise in which leather-clad vampires try to combat enormous werewolves with BDSM whips, which means the Underworld series is a total kickass. This modern-day Gothic epic, which premiered in 2003, portrays the narrative of an ancient struggle between vampires and the full-moon beasties known as Lycans. Selene (Kate Beckinsale), a “Death Dealer” vowed to exterminate werewolves for good, gets caught in the middle. Bill Nighy plays a vampire senior who engages in a fistfight with Michael, a werewolf/vampire hybrid (Scott Speedman). It’s all fantastic.

Underworld, like any property dealing with rich lore and ages of mythology, dabbles in flashbacks, prequels, and overall grandiosity, making it a bit difficult to dive in. We’ve figured it out. Below you’ll find instructions on how to view each Underworld film in chronological order, as well as in order of release.

Underworld Movies In Order of Release Date

Here is every Underworld movie in order of when they were released.

Underworld (2003)

Underworld: Evolution (2006)

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)

Underworld: Endless War (2011)

Underworld: Awakening (2012)

Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Underworld Movies in Chronological Order of Events


In 2003, the first film in the franchise introduced the world to Selene and began the primary storyline with the betrayal of the vampire elders and Michael Corvin, a werewolf/vampire hybrid.

ALSO READ  Underworld Movies: Which Underworld Movie Is Worth Your Time & Which One Is A Disappointment?

Underworld: Evolution

Although Underworld: Evolution begins in 1202—the franchise’s officially first scene—the most of the sequel takes place very soon after the events of Underworld.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

Set in 1402, this prequel film produced by Patrick Tatopoulos portrays the story of Lucian, the first werewolf to also adopt human form, earning him the moniker “Lycan.” The film also provides a lot of background information on the events in the first Underworld film.

Underworld: Endless War (Part I)

Endless War is a trilogy of short anime films directed by Juno John Lee and overseen by Underworld co-creator Len Wiseman that follows Selene through multiple eras of Death Dealin’. Selene follows a trio of Lycan brothers across Paris in the first segment, which takes set in 1890.

Underworld: Endless War (Part II)

Selene returns to Paris in 1967 in the second short film in the Endless War series.

Underworld: Endless War (Part III)

Selene returns to Paris in the third short film in the Endless War series, this time in the year 2012, to build up the events of…

Underworld: Awakening

Underworld: Awakening, directed by Mns Mrlind and Björn Stein, takes place several years after Underworld: Evolution. The human race has become fully aware of both vampires and Lycans in the years between the two flicks.

Underworld: Blood Wars

The franchise’s final feature (at least for the time being!) takes place a few years after Underworld: Awakening.

+ posts
Palak Tiwari Is All Set To Dazzle Bollywood With Her Beauty That 90s Show Cast – All Main Characters Are back Except One 11 Bollywood Actresses Who Changed Their Real Names 10 Celebrities Who Have Used Tinder Just Like Us Violent Night Available On Only One Streaming Platform – Read Details Kiara Advani’s Bold Looks Everyone Is Going Crazy For